Skip to main content

​About our place:

Mysore is the cultural capital of Karnataka. It receives its name from the historically renowned Kingdom of Mysore which was ruled by the Wadiyar dynasty between 1399 and 1956. The word Mysore itself comes from Mahishuru, which means the abode of Mahishasura - a demon who was killed by Goddess Chamundeshwari, who now has her abode in the Chamundi Hills.

Today, Mysore is a growing city with over million people and is ranked one of the best cities to live in, in India. It houses several important industries such as the RBI Printing Press, Infosys, Wipro, BEML, among many others. It is also a local education hub and is the home to the famous Mysore University and numerous colleges of excellence in engineering and medicine. The city is also a very popular tourist destination in itself - with attractions like the Mysore Palace, Brindavan Gardens, Chamundi Hills, and so forth and also as a traveling hub to other nearby destinations such as Ooty, Bandipur, Nagarhole, Waynad, etc.

To visitors, the Mysore Dasara, Mysore Silk, Mysore Ganjifa Painting, the Mysore Peta, and the Mysore Pak leave a lasting taste of the fabulous culture of Karnataka. Indeed, Mysore is a paradise with rich cultural roots and a progressive population.






The Inner  wheel club of Mysore was inaugurated on 26th February 1966.Thanks to Rotary Club of Mysore and Late Rtn N N Shastry who was primarily responsible for bringing the club into being.

The club was started with a membership of 12 persons. At present we are a huge family of 58 members. We have our regular meetings at Rotary premises JLB Road Mysore.

Our member late Mrs Sheila F Irani was the only  from our  District  to serve as the Association President of inner Wheel Clubs of India & Sri Lanka.  She has been conferred the JEAN HARRIS AWARD by the Rotary International in the year 1999 for her outstanding contribution to the welfare of women.

 INNER WHEEL Club of Mysore also has the credit of having 12 District Chairmen present in its fold:

Late Mrs Sheila Irani  1970-71

Mrs Lalitha Sitaram  1974-75

Late Mrs Meena Sanath  1980-81

Mrs Sharadha Alva   1985-86

Late Mrs Veena Bapat  1987-88

Mrs Binnie Naniah   1989-90

Mrs Geeta Kutappa  1993-94

Mrs Saroja Ramu  1996-97

Late Mrs Geeta Ravikumar  1998-99

Mrs Jannavi Murthy     2000-01

Mrs Naina Achappa   2005-06

Mrs Swarna Chittaranjan  2011-12


The following members have served the District in various capacities.

1.Mrs Susheela Krishnamurthy.     Extension Service Chairman 1991-92

2.Mrs Nirmala Srikumar.                District Secretary 1994-95

3. Mrs Suma Dinesh.                     Dist ISO 1999-2000

4. Mrs Naina Achappa.                  Dist  ISO  1997-98

                                                       Dist Editor1998-99

                                                       Dist Secretary 2000-01

                                                       Dist Vice Chairman 2004-05

                                                       Dist Chairman 2005-06

5.Mrs Swarna Chiittaranjan.           Dist ISO  2004-05

                                                       Dist Secretary 2005-06

                                                       Dist Treasurer 2009-10

                                                       Dist Chairman  2011-12

6.Mrs Pushpa Gururaj.                   Dist ISO 2016-17

                                                       Dist Treasurer 2017-18

                                                       Dist Secretary 2018-19

                                                       Dist Editor 2019-20

                                                       Dist.ESO 2020-2021